For some users, Instagram can be a cluttered experience, filled with old, often embarrassing photos. To help remove that clutter, the photo sharing service on Tuesday introduced a new feature called Archive, which lets you move previously shared posts into a space visible only to you.
Instagram hopes that Archive will not only stop people from deleting their photos, but also make them more comfortable with sharing certain photos in the first place. The feature is now available to all Android and iOS users.
Once archived, the post will be hidden from your grid and from the public, but you will be able to view it in the Archive section, which is accessible by tapping on the new Archive icon on the top right corner in your profile page. You also have the option to move it back into the profile at any time by tapping the ‘Show on Profile’ option in Archive.