Vijay Music Awards 2010 Stills

Vijay Music Awards 2010
Vijay Music Awards 2010

Vijay TV now hosts the most prestigious award ceremony honoring the deserving from the Tamil music industry.

The first edition of India Gate Basmati Rice Vijay Music Awards powered by The Chennai Silks took place in a grand manner at SDAT (Jawaharlal Nehru) Indoor Stadium on May 11, 2011. The entire music fraternity was seen cheering their fellow mates. Out of the 149 films that were released in the year 2010, 700 odd songs were composed involving more than 500 musicians. To honor these people, Vijay TV has come up with a novel thought of Vijay Music Awards.
Ardent music lovers got a rare chance to vote for their favorite music on Tamil cinema. Vijay TV had sent three vans that were made to travel to all parts of Tamilnadu to collect votes from the music buffs. 8 Popular category awards were given away to the deserving based on the votes collected from the public.

Popular Song of the year 2010: was given to ‘Kilimanjaro song from the film Enthiran composed by A.R.Rahman.

Popular Male Singer 2010: was given to Playback singer Karthik for Usurae Poguthae from the film Ravannan.

While Popular Song of Masses went to Kadhal Vandhalae from Singam composed by Devi Sri Prasad, Popular Album of the year 2010 was given to A.R.Rahman’s musical Vinnaithandi Varuvaya.

Popular Duet of the year 2010: went for ‘Adada mazhaida’ from the film Paiya composed by Yuvan Shankar Raja. The duet was sung by Saindhavi and Rahul Nambiyar. Popular Melody of the year 2010 also went to the same film for Thuli Thuli song. Yuvan won yet another award for the Popular Song sung by a Music Director of the year 2010 – En Kadhal solla from the film Paiya.

Apart from the Popular categories, 13 Best category awards were also given away.

Vijay Prakash won the Best Male Singer award for Hosanna song from Vinnaithandi Varuvaya. Shreya Goshal and Andrea Jermiah both were given Best Female Singer awards for Mannipaya (Vinnaithandi Varuvaya & Maalai Neram (Aayirathil Oruvan) respectively.
Best Music Director Award was won by A.R.Rahman for his excellent composition for Vinnaithandi Varuvaya. The Lyricist with the most number of hits 2010 was bagged by Na. Muthukumar. Actor / Director Kamal Haasan won the Best Lyricist Award and the Best Song sung by an actor (Manmadhan Ambu – Neela Vaanam)
Best Debut Music Director was won by composer Kannan for Thamizh Padam.
Best Sound Mixing 2010 was won by K.J.Singh, Deepak.P.A and Resul pookutty for their exceptional performance in the film Enthiran. Best Folk Song was won by Jilla Vittu from the film Eesan.

Special awards were also distributed to the legends in this awards ceremony. Dr. K.J.Yesudas was honored with the Evergreen Voice Award. While M.S.Viswanathan was given the Isai Chakravarthi Award for his Outstanding Contribution to the Music Industry, A.R.Rahman was given the Global Indian Award for his Outstanding Contribution to the Music Industry. P. B. Sreenivas, L.R. Eswari and Vani Jairam were given away the title ‘Isai Asaangal’ Award.
Popular singer Hariharan entertained the audiences with his soul stirring voices at the function. Special fusion performance was rendered by the classical music family L.Subramaniyam, Kavita Krishnamurty and son Ambi Subramaniyam. A special mention need to be given to Ranjith Barrot at the drums, Stephen Devasi at the piano and Azad Khan at the Sitar.

[nggallery id=895]


Leave a Reply