Modi Rahul

Modi overlooks interest of farmers: Rahul

Modi  Rahul
Modi Rahul

New Delhi, Sep 12 : Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi on Saturday accused Prime Minister Narendra Modi of overlooking farmers as the party formed a committee to prepare for its rally on September 20 to mark its success in forcing the government to change its stance on the land bill.

“Modi ji talks about democracy, but he doesn’t talk about the farmers who are vital constituents of democracy,” Gandhi said after meeting farmers who had come from various states.

He later tweeted: “Met delegations of farmers from various states and assured them of the Congress party’s continued support. Proud to have fought alongside farmers against the NDA Govt’s anti-farmer amendments to the land bill.

“But the fight to ensure that farmers are equal partners in the progress of the nation continues and Congress is committed to that goal,” Gandhi said.

The farmers took part at a function organised by Youth Congress to “celebrate victory” over the land act passed by the previous United Progressive Alliance.

Following sustained pressure from the Congress, the government has allowed the ordinance on its new land bill to lapse.

The new bill is being examined by the joint committee of parliament but the ruling BJP has already made significant change in its stance on the legislation.

Youth Congress activists and farmers burst crackers to celebrate their “victory” over the land bill.

The farmers also met Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

With the Congress keen to turn its September 20 “kisan samman rally” into a show of strength, Sonia Gandhi on Saturday approved formation of the committee with senior party leader A.K. Antony as its chairman.

Former Haryana chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda and AICC general secretary Digvijaya Singh are co-chairmen of the committee, which also includes former Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit and party treasurer Moitlal Vora.

Congress general secretaries and in-charge of states are members of the commitee.

Congress chiefs and Congress legilsature party leaders of the northern states of Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh are also members of the committee.

Since the party is ruling Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand, the chief ministers of two states – Virbhadra Singh and Harish Rawat – are also its members.


Leave a Reply