MDMK to boycott R.K. Nagar by-polls, Vaiko announces


MDMK general secretary Vaiko has announced that his party would be boycotting the upcoming R.K. Nagar by-polls to be held in Chennai on 12th April. “We wouldn’t be supporting any part in the fray,” he added.

As reported earlier, R.K. Nagar by-polls are slated to be held on 12th April to fill up the vacancy created by the demise under mysterious circumstances of its earlier incumbent and former Tamil Nadu chief-minister J. Jayalalithaa in December last year.

Two AIADMK factions, Deepa’s MAD Peravai, CPI-M, BJP, DMK and Seeman’s Naam Tamizhar Katchi are in the fray to contest the by-polls. CPI and VCK have announcd their decision not to contest.

In the meantime, the MDMK’s highest policy-making council met yesterday to take stock of the political scenario in the State. It also debated about the upcoming R.K. Nagar by-polls. Speaking to newsmen later, Vaiko said that the MDMK had decided to boycott the R.K. Nagar by-polls. “We won’t be supporting any party in the fray directly or indirectly,” he said.


Leave a Reply