Mani Ratnam to be honoured with ‘Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award 2010’

The renowned director Mani Ratnam is all set to be honored with the Jaeger-LeCoultre ‘Glory to the Filmmaker‘ award at the 67th Venice International Film Festival on September 6, 2010.

The Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award, which has honored major international filmmakers such as Takeshi Kitano, Abbas Kiarostami, Agnès Varda, and Sylvester Stallone, is this year to honour the work of the great Indian director Mani Ratnam. As in previous editions, together with the award the director will be presented with a Reverso Jaeger-LeCoultre watch, a one-of-a-kind model with a commemorative engraving.

Along with Mani Ratnam, wife Suhasini, actors Vikram, Abhishek Bachchan, Aishwarya Rai and Isai Puyal A.R. Rahman will be attending the film festival.

During the award ceremony Mani Ratnam’s much-anticipated film Ravanan’s hindi version Raavan will be screened in the festival premier. Speaking on why they chose Mani Ratnam for this honour, Marco Mueller, Venice Film Festival director says, “Mani Ratnam used to initially make movies only in his native tongue, Tamil, but has now been one of a handful of filmmakers to successfully handle the transition to the All-India market. One of the great innovators in contemporary Indian cinema, he helped introduce the auteur concept to contemporary Bollywood.”



Leave a Reply