Aadukalam bags Best Actor for Dhanush;Best Director for Vetrimaran at National Film Awards

National Awards 2011-Tamil

Tamil film industry stole the spotlight, bagging 12 Awards in the 58th National Film Awards for 2010, which were announced on Thursday. Actor Dhanush has won the Best Actor award for his performance in ‘Aadukalam‘. He will be sharing the best actor going with Malayalam actor Salim Kumar who won a nod for Adaminde Makan Abu.

“I did not expect this award. I am very happy, but will wait till the Superstar recovers and gets back home to celebrate,” said actor Dhanush.

He dedicated the success to Superstar Rajinikanth, his father-in-law. “On behalf of all my fans and myself I dedicate this national award 2 superstar and his speedy recovery 🙂 god bless”, he tweeted.

Dhanush thanked director Vetrimaran, Kalanidhi Maran, Tapsee and the entire Aadukalam team for the success.

Set in the world of cockfighting, Aadukulam, “a gritty tale of love, jealousy and betrayal in the midst of blood-sport and violence, in the manner of realistic cinema”, bagged five awards.

Vetrimaran who won the Best Director for Aadukulam, was also deemed Best Original Screenplay Writer. Others in Aadukalam team who got national awards were T.E. Kishore (Best Editing) and Dinesh Kumar (Best Choreography).

“It was also special that the news of the award came on Vetrimaran’s mentor Balu Mahendra’s birthday. “All the achievements of his students and assistants are actually his. We owe it to him,” said Vetrimaran.

The Best Actress award went to actress Saranya Ponvannan for her wonderful performance in ‘Thenmerkku Paruvakkatru’. An elated Saranya said: “I am very, very happy.”

Lyricist Vairamuthu won the award for Best Lyrics (Thenmerkku Paruvakkatru) and this is the sixth national award for him.

‘Enthiran’ won awards for Best Production Design (Sabu Cyril) and Best Special Effects (V.Srinivas M.Mohan).

Thambi Ramaiah, will receive the Best Supporting Actor award for his role in ‘Mynaa’.

‘Namma Gramam’ malayalam film won two awards for Best Supporting Actress (Sukumari) and Costume Design (Indrans Jayan).

Hindi film Dabangg won the award in Best Popular Film Category.


Leave a Reply