National award winners

59th National awards announced -Vaagai Sooda Vaa, Best Tamil Film

 National award winners

The winners of the 59th National Film Awards were announced today in the capital New Delhi. While there were some surprises, the deserving did leave a strong impression. A host of Kollywood movies made it to top spots including Vaagai Sooda Va, the critically acclaimed Aaranya Kaandam and Azhagarsamiyin Kudhirai Suseenthiran.

Actress Vidya Balan took home the coveted Best actress award for her oomph performance in the Dirty Picture, which also ran into packed halls down South, post release. Thiayagarajan Kumararajah’s Aaranya Kaandam   won the The Indira Gandhi Award for the Best Debut film by a Director. The movie also had its editor K L Praveen receiving the honors for Best editing. The Best Regional Film’ was bagged by A. Sarkunam’s Vaagai Sooda Vaa , that had some stunning visuals accompanied by a soulful musical debut by M Ghibran. The composer gave out the good news saying, Thanks to god, Vaagai Sooda Va has won National Award for Best Tamil Film.”Suseenthiran’s Azhagarsamiyin Kudhirai fetched the Popular Entertainment award. Actor Appukutty’s name was announced for the Best Supporting actor’s trophy, taking the movie’s tally to two. All winners will be presented with their trophies in a grand award ceremony to be held on May 3rd.

Congratulations!! to the recipients and those he dint make it there is always a next time 🙂

59th National Awards Winners List:

Best Feature Film: ‘Devur’ (Marathi) & ‘Byari’ (Kannada)

Best Director: Gurvinder Singh, ‘Anhe Ghorey Da Daan’

Best Actor: Girish Kulkarni, ‘Deool’

Best Actress: Vidya Balan, ‘The Dirty Picture’

Best Supporting Actor: Appu Kutty, ‘Azhagar Samiyin Kuthirai’ (Tamil)

Best Supporting Actress: Leishangthem Tonthoingambi Devi, ‘Phijigee Mani’ (Manipuri)

Best Editing: Praveen KL, ‘Aranyaa Kandam’

Best Child Artist: Partho Gupte, ‘Stanley Ka Dabba’ and ‘Chillar Party’ cast

Best Film on Social Issues: ‘Inshallah’ (Ashvin Kumar) and ‘Mindscape’ (Arun Chadha)

Best Non Feature Film: ‘And We Play On’

Best Debut Film of a Director: ‘The Silent Poet’ (Manipuri)

Best Children’s Film: ‘Chillar Party’

Best Music Direction: Neel Dutt, ‘Ranjana Ami Ar Ashbona’

Best Background Score: ‘Laptop’, Mayookh Bhaumik

Best Singer (Female): Rupa Ganguly

Best Singer (Male): Anand Bhate

Best Lyrics: ‘I Am’, Amitabh Bhattacharya

Best Screenplay (Adapted): ‘Shala’, Avinash Deshpande

Best Screenplay (Original): ‘Chillar Party’, Vikas Behl & Nitish Tiwari

Best Dialogue: Girish Kulkarni, ‘Deool’

Best Make Up Artist: Vijram Gaekwad, ‘The Dirty Picture’ and ‘Bal Gandharva’

Best Special Effects: ‘Ra.One’

Best Costume Design: Niharika Khan, ‘The Dirty Picture’ and Neeta Lulla, ‘Bal Gandharva’

Best Choreography: Bosco-Caeser for “Senorita…” from ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’

Best Hindi Film: ‘I Am’

Best Marathi Film: ‘Shaala’

Best Kannada Film: ‘Kurmavatara’

Best Bengali Film: ‘Ranjana Ami Aar Ashbona’

Best Malayalam Film: ‘Indian Rupee’

Best Tamil Film: ‘Vaagai Sooda Vaa’

Best Dogri Film: ‘Dille Ch Vasya Koi’

Best Manipuri film: ‘Phijigee Mani’

Best Punjabi Film: ‘Anne Gode Da Daan’

Special Mention: Director Shari for ‘Adi Madhyantam’ (Malayalam Film) and Mallika for ‘Byari’ (Kannada Film)

Best film critic: Manoj P Pujari

Best Book Award: Anirudha Bhattacharjee and Balaji Vittal for ‘R.D. Burman The Man, The Music’

Indira Gandhi award for debut film director: Thiagarajan Kumararaja for ‘Aaranya Kaandam’

Special Jury Award: Anjan Dutta for ‘Ranjana Ami Aar Ashbo Na’


Leave a Reply