57th filmfare Awards -Pazhassiraja and Maghadheera Bags most

Over 40 awards in various categories were given to Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada films were announced on Saturday night.Malayalam film Pazhassiraja’ won seven awards, Telugu film Magadheera’ walked home with six, and national award-winning Tamil film Kanchivaram’ netted three.

In Tamil, Kanchivaram’ fetched Priyadarshan the best director award, while Prakash Raj won the best actor award for the same film. Shammu, who played his daughter in the movie was the best supporting actor (female). Nadodigal’ walked off with the best film award, in a year that saw a number of contenders, from commercial pot-boilers such as Ayan’ and quasi art house films such as Kanchivaram’ to films with unusual plots such as Pasanga’.Pooja was awarded the best actress(Tamil for Naan Kadavul)

As each award was announced, there were tears and joy. Singer Priya Himesh, who took home an award for Ringa Ringa’ from Telugu film Arya 2′ smiled, declared herself a Tamilian, burst into tears and asked her music director to present the award again.

Lyricist ONV Kurup who won the Black Lady for Kunnathe’ from Malayalam film Pazhassiraja’ gave a dignified acceptance speech. Actress Abhinaya, who debuted in Tamil film Nadodigal’ and has a speech impairment, moved the audience with her thanks.

The awards were interspersed with performances by Vineeth, Lakshmi Gopalaswamy, Padmapriya, Lakshmi Rai and Sameera Reddy.

Best cinematographer awards went to Senthil Kumar for Magadheera’ and Thiru for Kanchivaram’.

Magadheera‘ grabbed awards for best film, best director (SS Rajamouli), best actor (Ram Charan Teja) and best music (MM Keeravani) and best male playback singer (Anuj Guruwara).

Lifetime achievement awards went to Kannada actor Ambareesh and Malayalam thespian KPAC Lalitha. Yuvan Shankar Raja won the special jury award for Telugu film Oye’, while actors Yagna Shetty and Srinagar Kitty picked it up for Kannada.

In Malayalam, period film Pazhassiraja’ was judged the best film, while Hariharan was best director. Mammootty, an eternal favourite with Chennai crowds, won best actor and Shweta Menon was best female actor.

In Kannada, Josh’ won best film, while Guruprasad won best director for Yeddelu Manjunatha’. Ganesh and Priyanka Kothari won best actor awards.


Leave a Reply